Buy Elegies: A Song Cycle album
Album lyrics:
  1. Looking Up Quintet
  2. Mister Choi & Madame G
  3. Mark's All-Male Thanksgiving
  4. Only One
  5. Joe Papp Joe Papp Video
  6. Peggy Hewitt and Mystery del Gior Peggy Hewitt and Mystery del Gior Video
  7. Passover
  8. Infinite Joy
  9. Ballad of Jack Eric Williams
  10. Fred Fred Video
  11. Dear Reader Dear Reader Video
  12. Monica & Mark
  13. Anytime (I Am There)
  14. My Dogs
  15. Venice
  16. 14 Dwight Ave., Natick, Massachusetts 14 Dwight Ave., Natick, Massachusetts Video
  17. When the Earth Stopped Turning
  18. Goodbye/Boom Boom
  19. Looking Up Looking Up Video
  20. Goodbye (Finale) Goodbye (Finale) Video

Elegies: A Song Cycle synopsis

Elegies: A Song CycleSynopsis - Broadway musical

Author William Finn wrote a series of songs to honor the memory of his colleagues, friends and relatives who died in the fire at 9/11 of a terrorist act in the United States, as one part. The other is about loss due to normal death, of illness. These songs are full of mental suffering, melancholy and expectation that everything is for the better. The premiere of the songs series took place in 2003 at the Lincoln Center and has been exhibited since for many times. The most notable performances continued until 2010, including New York, Great Britain, Massachusetts, Toronto and several other places. Not professional performances were held in other cities. What is noteworthy in this creation – it is not necessary to prepare the special acting or to study a libretto. Here important only a presentation of the song with some interesting acting and in parallel, with respect to the original idea. For example, it includes 23 songs, some of which entered the final collection, which was released by Fynsworth Alley.

Some songs were also written by Finn in the memory of those of his friends that died from diseases such as AIDS. Three more songs dedicated to his mother, also passed. When this staging first saw the world, it had 18 songs, five of which complemented the cycle, creating an atmosphere of compassion for the victims of the terrorist attack. Despite the fact that all of them sung about those who are no longer with us, the general mood is created sublime, cheerful, even reassuring. That's certainly how gone people wouldn’t like so others grieved over them, but all the good that they created in life be remembered.
Last Update:April, 06th 2016

Elegies: A Song Cycle synopsis
Follow us on  
Broadway musical soundtrack lyrics. Song lyrics from theatre show/film are property & copyright of their owners, provided for educational purposes